Tags

, ,

What are you looking for and do you have the courage to get it?

courage

It goes really without saying that if you’re looking for a home based business you want it to be profitable. I really think when it comes to starting a home based business though you really need to ask yourself do I have what it takes to do this?

After all it takes some courage to start a business. The SBA Small Business Administration place’s the failure rate at around 44%. That’s down from 50% a few years ago. Either way the odds are still against you. You can also figure 1-2 years before you see profit! Many people do not take this in to consideration and without capital to last this long they fail long before they ever get started.

So what does courage have to do with it you may ask? Well courage is not having fear, courage is moving forward through the fear. All the above statistics from the SBA could keep you from ever even getting pass the dreaming stage. Chances are though if you’re reading this you are already at the very least thinking about it. Many are way passed that. I am one of those way passed that. In fact I have a successful small business. It took a ton of courage though of this I know. Many times I was paralyzed by fear. The what if’s kept me down for a while. I am so very glad I moved forward through it. I have gotten to the other side.

So how do you get to the other- side? Well one of the many reasons that only 44% of small business today fail instead of the 50% only a few short years ago is the internet. Starting an internet business can be done with very little capital and sometimes none at all. Your overhead (expense’s to maintain your business) is minimal after all it only takes a home computer and some tenacity. The electric, gas and brick and mortar your already paying for!. So you have no real overhead. The bonus in that is now a part of your very home and daily expenses are now tax deductible. Add a magnet to your car it becomes tax deductible as well. Don’t forget that tax deduction posted to your ear all day! Your cell phone is now a business expense.

The next part and I cannot stress this enough comes the investigative part. Do your home work. Find something that you enjoy and then do your home- work and check it out. No matter what you do and what type of business you decide you want to have. Make sure you find out everything you can first. It does not matter whether you want to turn your hobby into an internet business. Or if you are looking at an affiliate program or maybe a MLM. There are as many types of business’s that you can run and do from the comfort of your home and your computer as there are ideas.

However if you starting running all over the place with no plan in place and without any knowledge of what you’re doing you will still find yourself among the 44% that fail. And when it comes to any internet marketing business’s well the numbers jump to a 97% failure rate.

I hope your still holding onto that courage. Because the truth is you can do this. I did. I know that if I figured it out anyone can. I spent several years finding just the right thing. I started actually with a business that coming from my background should have been fail safe. Thing was I did not do enough homework first and my first attempt failed very shortly after start up and I spent a ton of money I could ill afford to lose. What I did gain was some knowledge. I understood the business side and the product side what I did not understand was the internet and how to use it to full advantage. So investigate everything. Look at everything.

This last time I spent over a year understanding marketing on the internet. I still learn new things every day now but I knew enough after a year of schooling myself to go ahead and leap in. One of the very things I did right this time was made sure I had the tools. No not the monkey wrench kind. Marketing tools, they are a must. You need a way to capture peoples information. Best known as capture pages, but they are also called squeeze pages and opt in forms. Email campaigns and if you can add video and audio that is a plus. Auto responders on the those campaigns otherwise you are not getting your message out there. I have all of these and more and although I resisted this before I knew that biting the bullet and doing it was a necessary.

It has paid off and I now consider myself a success. Why because I am making profit. One of the best things about an internet based business is you can get to profit long before the average 1-2 years for small business owners. So go ahead take the leap of faith. It can pay off real well.

There are some great businesses out here though they will not break you and will get you into profit fast. You just need to do your homework. Maybe you are just in the thinking stage or maybe a small business is not what you are scared of at all. Whatever it is whether you want to make a move across the country or around the block. Get out of a dead end job whatever it is just fortify yourself take that leap you will find it is never as scary as your mind had imagined it to be. Good luck to you and much to your success.

Cindy Slick
http://marketingntheinternetjungle.wordpress.com/